Sunday, February 21, 2010
Clarkston
Saturday, February 20, 2010
What a LONG ride home.
Friday, February 19, 2010
2 kids at the hospital
Thursday, February 18, 2010
Juggling everything
Wednesday, February 17, 2010
Emily's SEOP
Tuesday, February 16, 2010
Much ado about nothing
Monday, February 15, 2010
Getting ready for Isaac
Sunday, February 14, 2010
Jesus Christ is our chosen Savior
Saturday, February 13, 2010
Happy Valentines Day
Friday, February 12, 2010
Showing off
Thursday, February 11, 2010
Easy Baby
Wednesday, February 10, 2010
Long day...
Tuesday, February 9, 2010
I didn't know you were expecting...
Monday, February 8, 2010
Memorable FHE
Sunday, February 7, 2010
A three ring circus
Saturday, February 6, 2010
Hurray for Saturdays!!!
Hurray for Saturdays!!! My goals for the day were to get the bread mixes made, the laundry finished, my design work done, and a menu and job charts done. I got the bread mixes made. And quite a bit of laundry done. But not the other stuff. I let Emily give Jacob his bath…with a lot of help. And both girls got to dress him today. And I got caught up on my daily blog. Little man was doing great…no oxygen needed, til early evening. I’m wondering about his positioning. Emily had him on her lap and in a pillow while she read. But when I took him, he did fine. Then I put him on a pillow in my chair so I could work, and he needed it again. Hmmmmm…. I keep asking everyone to do everything I can to make it to church on time tomorrow.
Friday, February 5, 2010
Wish all days were this relaxed


Got to stay home today! Gave Jacob his first bath…took off the dots. Cleaned the messy counter spot while he napped. When Katie was finished with cleaning, I worked on laundry, made the bed. Got stuff done. It felt SO GOOD! By afternoon Jacob needed oxygen again. And he threw up twice. By nightfall I was really worried. He needed more oxygen today than yesterday and I don’t think I’m getting enough food in him. I’m afraid he won’t have gained weight when I take him to his appointment next week. I’m afraid because he still needs more oxygen. I’m afraid they’ll take him away. I asked Dave to give me a blessing. (he said tomorrow). We watched a movie and crashed. Jacob usually starts the night sleeping in his bed, but he tends to get cold and I tend to get tired. I can keep him warm, and slightly upright(so he doesn’t throw-up) and pay attention when he is in my arms. I do wake up every time he grunts or coos. Not sleeping well. Some nights he eats every two hours, but only 1.5 ounces. Other nights he takes in the whole 2 and a little more and sleeps longer. We are still trying to find a routine. Both of the girls got to change his diaper today. Oh, and they “babysitted” while Dave and I had a “date” in our room. We came out at 10 to find him sound asleep in Emily’s lap.
Thursday, February 4, 2010
FOUR hour meeting?
Got to work at 9:30. Not too bad. And I had everything with me. I managed to get the profit and loss done for America First and a deposit. I left about 1:30 to run errands briefly. I spent most of the errand time picking out an album for Cori. I hope she likes it. I hope it works. I got a rub-on for the cover. They only had one, but the rest are on sale next week. Hope I get them so I can send them soon.
I made it to Natalie’s SEOP on time. Woo Hoo! I was home for about an hour. I spent it curled up in a chair feeding and cuddling with my little man. Then I headed off to a girls’ camp meeting. It was great…except for the fact it lasted from 5:30 ‘til 9:45. It was 3 consecutive meetings, but still! Jacob was SO good. He seemed hungry when we first got there, so I fed him, then he stayed curled up on my chest for the whole rest of the meeting. No oxygen needed.
Wednesday, February 3, 2010
This is not as easy as I remember...

So the plan for the day was for me to take Jacob into work, to work a little late, then run a couple of errands, then Jacob’s Dr. appt at 4:30, then home, take the girls to YW, and home for the evening. Yea right.
I got to work at 11. That’s right , 11. It took me forever. I didn’t even have a diaper bag packed for him. I hadn’t even thought of what to put in one. And I wasn’t showered or anything. Overnight I’d washed my clothes, but I was really tired and not thinking too straight. Since I was going to be gone so long, I wanted enough oxygen and enough blankets and enough…and I didn’t know how much was enough. Besides, I wanted to get the tape off his face and get the dots on. Even with adhesive remover, it took a while to get his face cleaned up and get a sponge bath and get the dots on and the tubing back on.
Good news was he wasn’t needing the oxygen all night or all morning. But in the afternoon at the office he needed some.
Errands took forever, and I didn’t get a couple of them done. The doctor’s appointment went well. Dr. O’dell said to shut the oxygen off unless he needs it. I had to stop and feed Jacob before we could load up to go home. Afterwards I took Dave Morrill the checks I was supposed to get done before the doc appt. I got to show Jacob off to him and his wife. They wrote one of our letters of recommendation. Then since I couldn’t be home before the girls left for YW, I decided to take Jacob to see the Whites. Mom White was SO excited. And she held him for two hours before I could get out of there. Then a quick stop at Walmart for a baby monitor and a few other things. But by then Jacob was hungry again. I pulled into the Kohl’s parking lot and stopped and fed him again. Then went home.
Nat had geometry homework. I sent her to get help from Grandpa. I was too tired.
But determined to get to work on time the next morning.
Tuesday, February 2, 2010
HOME at last!!!!


I am exhausted, but so relieved to be home. You know. I haven’t cried yet. Then this morning happened. I fed Jacob at like 5:45-ish, and put him down so I could sleep ‘til 7, but about 6:45 he threw up. He was part-way on his side, and I heard him do it. (I’ve suddenly become a very light sleeper.) so I jumped up right away. And stared working on cleaning him up. He wasn’t happy and started crying as I took off his clothes. I thought I heard what sounded like a stuffy nose, and I briefly thought of bulb syringing him, but I figured he was upset about being naked and cold. I quickly got a warm tub of water and a wash cloth and worked on washing him off, but he was getting more and more upset. I picked him up, wrapped him in a blanket and snuggled him close, but I could not console him. I tried changing his diaper…in the middle of that, his alarms started going off. He was sat-ing fine, but his heart rate was over 200 and staying that way. I wondered if his probe was reading right, 207…211…217. He would scream for a few seconds, then go still for a few seconds, then scream again. I was pretty sure he couldn’t breathe, but I couldn’t find a bulb syringe, so I unplugged him and raced him down to the nursery. He screamed the whole way, so there was a nurse standing there who punched the code and let me in. The two nursery nurses (it was report time) looked at me like “why are you here right now?” I said, “I know I’m not supposed to be here, but I need help.” Besides, Jacob was upset, and he isn’t usually upset. I lost it. Through tears I told them I couldn’t find a bulb syringe. One nurse immediately got one and suctioned his nose and mouth, but he still kept doing the same thing. We could all tell he was screaming then he’d apnea. The other nurse suggested some saline and making SURE his nostrils were clean, since babies are nose breathers. I was still crying. I was afraid they’d take him away from me. I was afraid he’d have to stay longer. I was afraid that he had something really wrong with him. She salined him and suctioned a big chunk of gunk out of each side. Then he took a deep breath…through his nose. And calmed right down. They put the bulb syringe in his basinet and sent me back to my room. I took him in (he was still naked—diaper and blanket only) I scooped him up, held him tight and sobbed for half and hour. I am VERY attached to my little boy.
Eventually he started to stir and root around. So I dressed him and fed him and held him. Then I put him in the basinet and cleaned and packed the room. And got ready to leave. He was supposed to get his last dose of amox at 10, but they were going to do it at 9 so we could leave. But the doctor hadn’t shown up. She arrived at 9 just as I was taking him to the nursery.
She said everything was looking great. Chest x-ray was clear. Numbers were looking good. She wondered if he even needed the O’s. As if on cue, his sats dropped to 87 and stayed there…and the oxygen was ON. She turned it up and decided he needed it. I told her about the spitting up/plugged nose issue and she was OK with it. She asked me if I was still comfortable taking him home. “I just charted that he can go home, are you still OK with that?” … um…YES!!!!!!
Then she said because he’d failed the car seat test, we needed to go buy a head/neck support and repeat the test…for 2.5 hours. So we are NOT leaving at 9:30. I described what we needed to Dave, who’d headed to the nearest department store. Within a half hour he was back with one. Not my favorite model, but at least we had one. Then the self proclaimed OCD nurse said 2.5 hours. I thought I was going to lose it. I asked her…not so nicely…how long it took her to get to Preston (she said she had family there earlier in the week) Dave calmed me down and quietly said to give him a chance to charm her. And charm her he did! Within 10 minutes the two of them were laughing and reminiscing like old friends. They talked for over an hour about everything. Then they came out and she sat down with us and asked us if we had questions about anything. We talked about bathing and umbilical cords and blankets at night and pacifiers. Finally Dave asked if he could go take a nap. So I carefully suggested we let the agency know what time to arrive. She said 1pm (yes, the full 2.5 hours) Dave said he needed to be in Newton by 3. So she said, how about noon? (only 2 hours) then she’d do paperwork with the agency while I fed him.
As I dressed him my eyes were filling with tears. I could tell that I was going to cry half way home. I asked for a box of tissues for the road. I had to keep telling myself to BREATHE as we walked to the car.
Kathy (the nurse) set his car seat on the back seat, but she let me fasten it and didn’t even check it. Dude. Dave can work magic. Angie (agency) gave me one last hug. And they shut the door. Dave crawled in and the tears fell. For the second time I sobbed for a half an hour.
Jacob did excellent on the way home—no desats. Around 2 the girls started texting “where are you?”, we pulled up about 3. Emily was already home and she patiently…not THAT patiently waited for me to take him out of the car seat and hand him over to her. She cuddled with him for 10 or so minutes til Nat got home and took a turn.
When Marky got home he was so excited. I could claim he was excited to see me, but in retrospect, I’m not sure that was it. I walked him to the chair so he could hold Jacob. I sat him in my lap and held his arms while Natalie put Jacob in his arms. He was just mesmerized…and excited. His one arm slipped out of my hand and I caught him as he was going to grab his head. I helped him softly stroke Jacob’s head. Meanwhile Emily was snapping photos.
Then a funny thing happened. I took Jake with my right hand and Mark with my left, for Nat to take Marky, but their tubes were tangled. LOL! So Nat and I passed the boys back and forth untangling Marky’s feeding pump and tubing from Jacob’s sat monitor and oxygen tubing. For some reason it was very silly to us.
It keeps hitting me. I’m busy straightening the kitchen thinking about getting dinner and coordinating timing with feeding Jacob and I suddenly realize I have a baby. And tears well up.
Tonight Grandma Nola (my grandma) and Mom and Dad and Aunt LuAnn and Uncle Martin came to visit. So did Katie and her kids. Her boys washed their hands, but all they did was look at him. Everyone else held him. Grandma asked a few times what his name was. We visited and they asked details about the adoption. Dave had called everyone (since they all said they wanted to come) and suggested they come after dinner about 7pm, and that they leave by 8:30 since I was so tired. It worked perfectly.
Now scriptures with Emily, feed Jacob and get to bed. 1am will come all too soon.
Monday, February 1, 2010
I can't believe he's mine!

Actually when the floor supervisor got here at 6:30ish this am, she was so apologetic that she hadn’t already given me a room, that she did so right away. Apparently they called and asked her if I could have a room. There was a misunderstanding as to who I was…and she said no. But I crawled in a nice hot shower by 7am and it felt SO GOOD.
BUT…I had to wait ‘til 9 for the doctor to give clearance for him to move to the room. We got everything planned for getting to go home tomorrow. Then we started jumping through hoops. Officially Jacob is not on our insurance until he’s officially ours, but then it’s retro-active to his birth. So he has no insurance, but we need medical equipment. He’s going home on oxygen: he still needs just a smidge of it when he is in a deep sleep. For a couple of weeks or maybe a month. So because of Medicaid, IHC can’t do the oxygen & pulse oximeter. But when it goes retroactive, then it HAS to be IHC. Finally we just had them put self pay on the bill to give us a couple of weeks to get it all straightened out. (and meet the deductible) Phew!
So about noon the med supply guy finally brought the pulse ox. Then I got him hooked up and we could head down to our room!
And I learned a few things: The day nurse is obsessive about only letting me feed him. I finally think I know why. Cori’s full name is on his ankle band. She believes I’m not allowed to know her full name. So I talked it over with Angie from Act of Love. Angie said Cori is not allowed to know OUR full names, but we can know hers. So, for the record, her full name is Cori Ann Taylor. I want to keep that somewhere, but I don’t want to give it to Jacob ‘til I think he’s ready. Don’t need some 11 year old facebooking his mom. LOL! No serious. So I saw it on the ankle band. But it’s also on the medical forms and it’s not blacked out very well. Angie knows that I know. She said she’d tell me.
OK, so Marky’s appt at Primary’s went well. Yes he has scoliosis. But it’s not very bad and now we’ll keep an eye on it. Then Dave raced down to the adoption agency to sign all the paperwork!!!!! Then they brought the paperwork straight to me to sign (it had to be notarized, so the notary had to bring it) I signed and initialed forever, but he’s officially ours…well, we are his official foster parents for the next 6 months, and THEN we can make it final. But everything is all signed and ready for tomorrow morning.
And we had a car seat snafu. Dave didn’t bring it yet, (why would he, with Marky and stuff in the car)but it turns out that Jacob has to pass a car seat challenge. He has to spend 2 hours in the car seat to prove he has the stamina to ride all the way home. I decided they can do that one between feedings in the middle of the night when I wouldn’t be holding him anyway.
I still can’t believe he is mine, but it is sinking in. I keep singing Julie through the glass to him…cept I sing “Jakey through the glass…just born a day ago…you’ve just got to be…the sweetest thing I’ll ever see. We…want you…to learn…to love yourself…because that’s where loving really starts…
Oh, and I decided to teach him that he is a child of God today. So we sang the first verse over and over and over. He was very alert and attentive after his 3pm feeding. Took him ‘til 4:30 before he fell back asleep. He just looks around and watches me. I need to get a mobile…or at least some hanging toys.
Karen is coming to visit tonight. Hmmm….should I let her feed him? Maybe not. He’s kinda hard. I’ve been learning how for like…2 days now. LOL!
Karen and I watched Cake Boss and Cake off and mostly just vegged for 3 hours. It helped the time to pass. Life is cake (no pun intended) I have to feed him then hold him for 2 hours…then feed him again. They do all the checks and changes. But I’m still looking forward to tomorrow.
PS. He did the car seat test at 11pm. Failed it. His head falls to the side and his sats drop. The nurse said we can put a rolled towel around his head and he’ll be fine.